# 15 Glossary

# **Australian Bureau of Statistics**

The Australian Government body responsible for official national statistics and for undertaking the Census of Population and Housing every five years.

Average annual growth rate

The compounded growth rate of a population applied to annual intervals. The formula for calculating average annual growth rate is:

 $= ((P_i / P^i)^{1/n} - 1) \times 100$ 

#### where

- $P_i = population at end of period$
- $P^i$  = population at start of period
- n = number of years between start and end of period.

# Catchment

The area served by a particular centralised service or function, such as a hospital.

#### Decentralisation

The movement of people, job and activities from the centre, or core, of major metropolitan areas to suburban and outlying locations.

# Demography

The scientific and statistical study of population and in particular, the size of populations, their development and structure. Demography focuses on the empirical, mathematical and statistical analysis of births and fertility, deaths and mortality and migration processes and their effects on population size, structure, composition and distribution and on the causes and consequences of changes in these variables.

# **Economic growth**

The increase of the productive capacity and output of a country or region, usually measured in terms of gross national product.

#### **Exurban areas**

The zone beyond the continuous urban built-up area within which commuters to the urban area are dominant. These areas are also known as peri-urban areas.

#### Fringe Melbourne or urban fringe

The non-urban area within the Melbourne metropolitan area, including towns such as Pakenham, Melton and Sunbury, as well as areas that are considered rural.

# Hinterland

Literally meaning 'back country', hinterland refers to a geographical area served by a population, economic or political centre.

# Infrastructure

The installations and facilities that provide a fundamental framework for an economy that assist industrial, agricultural and other forms of economic development. It includes the provision of transport, communication, power supplies and other public utilities.

# Local government areas (LGAs)

Local government administrative regions, of which Victoria comprises 79 cities, rural cities, shires and one borough.

# Labour intensive

A form of production where a high proportion of labour is used relative to the amount of land or capital employed.

#### Melbourne metropolitan area

This area covers the metropolitan area of Melbourne, including outlying towns such as Werribee, Melton, Sunbury, Craigieburn, Healesville and Pakenham as well as the Mornington Peninsula. This area is equivalent to the 31 Melbourne local government areas and is also referred to as the 'Melbourne region'.

# **Migration**

The permanent or semi-permanent change of a person's place of residence. Elements of time and space are integral to the concept and the specification of both a time scale and a set of boundaries within which and across which movement takes place.

#### **Peri-urban areas**

See exurban areas.

#### **Public sector**

That part of a national economy subject to direct government ownership and control. The constituents of the public sector are the departments of central and local government, various government agencies and the nationalised industries. The public sector is motivated by the welfare of the community as a whole.



#### **Regional Victoria**

This refers to those areas of Victoria that fall outside the Melbourne metropolitan area and comprises 48 local government areas.

#### Sector

Parts of the economy as judged by the economic activity that they constitute, for example agriculture, forestry, fishing and mining constitute the primary sector.

#### Statistical local area (SLA)

A geographical area created by the Australian Bureau of Statistics for statistical purposes. Victoria is divided into 200 SLAs. An SLA may be the same as an LGA, but in most cases, they aggregate to form LGAs.

#### Urban fringe

See Fringe Melbourne.

#### **Urban Melbourne**

The term 'urban Melbourne' is used to illustrate the parts of the Melbourne metropolitan area that are contiguously urban or suburban parts of Melbourne. This includes at least some part of every one of the 31 metropolitan local government areas and includes all inner and middle distance locations. The outer nine local government areas (Cardinia, Casey, Hume, Melton, Mornington Peninsula, Nillumbik, Whittlesea, Wyndham and Yarra Ranges) are split into parts that may be deemed as part of urban Melbourne, rural areas or 'towns'. These include places such as Melton and Sunbury that are not joined to Melbourne, although they form part of the broader understanding of Melbourne.

#### Jrban primacy

Refers to the pre-eminence of an urban centre or urban centres in terms of population or political power over the small town and rural hinterland.

### **Vacancy** rates

Vacancy rates indicate the number of dwellings unoccupied as a proportion of all dwellings in a given area at the time of the census. Vacancy rates will vary according to the time of the year and the location of towns. Coastal areas, for example, have a large number of vacant dwellings at the time of the census.

# Value-adding

Used as a synonym for manufacturing, for example, adding value to a primary product, rather than simply exporting or selling it as a raw commodity.



# Acknowledgements

The Department of Sustainability and Environment would like to thank and acknowledge the people of the following towns for their contributions to the Study of small towns in Victoria revisited:

Swifts Creek

Beechworth

Stanhope

Ouyen

Murtoa

Camperdown

We would also like to thank and acknowledge the contributions to this report from the following authors:

#### Chapter 6

The changing dynamics of small towns

Trevor Budge, School of Social Sciences, La Trobe University, Bendigo Campus

# **Chapters 7and 8**

The Study of small towns in Victoria revisited

Professor John Martin, Director, La Trobe University's Centre for Sustainable Regional Communities John Henshall, Principal, Essential Economics

# Chapter 9

Swifts Creek

Neil Smith, Centre for Rural Communities and Monash University, Gippsland

Dr Helen Sheil, Centre for Rural Communities and Monash University, Gippsland

# Chapter 10 Beechworth

Dr Maureen Rogers, Centre for Sustainable Regional Communities, La Trobe University, Bendigo

# Chapter 11

Stanhope

Dr. Jerry Courvisanos, Centre for Regional Innovation and Competitiveness, University of Ballarat

# Chapter 12

Ouyen

Dr Robyn Eversole, Program Director, Regional Development, RMIT University, Hamilton

# Chapter 13

Murtoa

Trevor Budge, School of Social Sciences, La Trobe University, Bendigo Campus

# Chapter 14

Camperdown

Dr Anna Macgarvey, School of History Heritage and Society, Deakin University, Warrnambool

Associate Professor Kevin O'Toole, School of International and Political Studies, Deakin University, Warrnambool